No. 1

The Association shall not endorse, support or recommend any candidate for public office.


No. 2

No funds shall be solicited from the Association during meetings by any individual or group who are not Active Members of the Association.  Any suggestion or proposition made at any meeting of this Association calling for the expenditure of funds for other than the regular obligations shall be referred to the Board of Directors.


No. 3

The Board of Directors shall hold at least four (4) regular meetings each year, with the first one held in conjunction with the annual Michigan Association of Counties (MAC) Summer Conference. The officers who served during the previous term shall be invited to attend the first meeting of the new Board.  The other regular meetings shall be held in October/November, in conjunction with the annual MAC Legislative Conference, and in conjunction with the Annual MACAO Spring Conference.


No. 4

Special meetings of the Board of Directors may be called from  time to time by the President or any four (4) Officers, provided written or electronic notice is sent to each member of the Board of Directors at least three (3) business days beforehand stating the reason for the special meeting.


No. 5

Regular and special meetings of the Board of Directors may provide for the participation of Officers by a conference call or other electronic means.


No. 6

The following Standing Committees may be appointed by the President:

a)     Constitution and By-Laws

b)     Conference

c)     Legislative

d)     Liaison (Michigan Association of Counties)

e)     Membership and Training

f)      Nominations

g)     Strategic Planning and Policy

h)     Information Technology


No. 7

The President may appoint, with the approval of the Board of Directors, such Special Committees as may be necessary in his or her judgement or the judgement of the Board of Directors to conduct the business of the Association.


No. 8

The President shall be an ex-officio member of all committees.


No. 9

Section (a)      The Legislative Committee shall consist of not less than two members, each appointed to a term of one year.


Section (b)      The Chairperson of the Liaison Committee shall be appointed in July of even numbered years to a term of two years.


Section (c)      All committees shall consist of a Chairperson and, subject to No. 7 and No. 9 (a) and (b) above, as many members as shall be considered necessary by the President.


Section (d)      Each committee, through its Chairperson, shall report, either verbally, in writing or by electronic means, to each regular meeting of the Board of Directors, unless excused by the President.


Section (e)      Such committee reports may be given to members attending conferences and other general meetings, upon the request of the President.


No. 10

These By-Laws may be amended or repealed at any regular or special meeting of this Association at which a quorum is present, by the vote of a majority of the members present in person and voting, provided no question shall be put to vote unless written notice thereof, stating the proposed amendment, shall have been mailed to each member at least thirty (30) days prior to the meeting at which the vote on the amendment is to be taken.



Adopted – August 24, 1994

Revised – December 11, 1998

Revised – October 24, 2008

Revised – May 27, 2010